Incorporating Comet Cycling Club Crescent Wheelers University Cycling Club



UNDER CTT REGULATIONS

The Lea Valley Cycling Club



Results: CRESCENT SOLOS & TANDEMS 30 Mile Time Trial

Sunday 27th September 2020 at 9am COURSE E1/30

incorporating ECCA Championship 30 Cup and a SPOCO SE Group 2 event

Timekeeper Frida Wezel Asst. Timekeeper Ian Taylor

Event secretary Dave McCarthy 07973181314

Event HQ: Lea Valley CC Race HQ, North Hall Lane, Ugley.

Promoted for and behalf of Cycling Time Trials (CTT) under their rules and regulations

Race Report: Congratulations to all riders and helpers for providing a fine contest on a hard day. And you all finished Timings measured by the LVCC team of Wezel/Taylor/Keen/Hedges, many thanks to them and to the many marshalls the club were able to provide on this demanding course. Particular gratitude to local man John Calvert who, spotting unexpected roadworks during the week, went back there and negotiated a reopening of the road for the weekend. But for that, no race!! On a cool day going out into a NW breeze, he managed a commendable 1:16:41. That was after the Tandem pairing of Iszaat and Lubin, again deprived of competition by mishap, did a fine 1:10:49. With the Ladies event also hit by absence, Lisa Hurrell beat Emma Flin. The first seed to start, and long tin "clubhouse" (if only!) leader was James Jenkins in 1:03:09. Fastest unseeded rider almost to the end was Samuel Thienen in 1:09:33, beaten late on by last years 5th placed Rob Chaplin, leaving them 6th and 7th. Although the first 4 last year didn't enter (or scratched) Rob was unseeded this year in an even stronger field. That certainly goes for scratchman Harry Tanfield, a pro with World Tour team AG2R-La Mondiale. But first, the other seeds raced to their appropriate placings behind the exceptional Jenkins, with local "cracks" David Harding 3rd, Kevin Baumber 4th and Chris Potter 5th. Dan Ryan, Matt Donovan and Matthew Saunders rounded out the top ten, all under evens! But Harry Tanfield did not disappoint. Overtaking many, and hurtling through the lanes and roundabouts, he smashed course and event record with an astonishing, on the day,1:00:30! A good bloke too, cheers, Harry, and well dor everyone, see you all next year in the socially undistanced sunshine...?

Dave McCarthy, organiser.

1.	Harry Tanfield (AG2	2R-La Mondiale)	01:00:30
(£40	and 2 tickets to LVC	C Dinner in Dece	ember???)

2.	James Jenkins	Richardsons-Trek RT	01:03:09	£25
----	---------------	---------------------	----------	-----

3. David Harding Chelmer CC 01:05:42 £20

4 Kevin Baumber Shaftesbury CC 01:07:25 £15

Solos (women)

1.	Lisa Hurrell	01:21:06 £40
2.	Emma Flin	01:31:55 £25

Tandems

1. J Iszaat/D Lubin (Team Vision R'g-Silverhook 01:10:49

Jeannette deGiorgio and Mick Savage dns (a)

Other results:

5.	Chris Potter	CC Ashwell	01:08:52
6.	Rob Chaplin	East London Velo	01:08:53
7.	Samuel Thienen	Shaftesbury CC	01:09:33
8.	Daniel Ryan	North Rd CC	01:09:51
9.	Matt Donovan	Bedfordshire RTT	01:10:38
10.	Matthew Saunde	rs TVR-Silverhook	01:11:40
11.	Gregory Smith	Finsbury Park CC	01:11:49

12. 13.	David Warlow Terry Garlinge	Essex Roads CC Easterley RC	01:11:53 01:12:01
14.	Ian Braybrook	Basildon CC	01:13:10
15.	Nick Bust	Dulwich Paragon CC	01:14:40
16.	Jeremy Greenwood Finsbury Park CC		01:15:04
17.	Thomas Platts	Aspire Velo RT	01:15:13
18.	John Calvert	Walden Velo	01:16:41
19.	Graham Painter	Chelmer CC	01:17:35
20.	Alexander Flin	Shaftesbury CC	01:18:18
21.	Graham Hurrell	VC St Raphael	01:19:31
22.	Andy Stuart	Basildon CC	01:20:07
23.	Geoff Bores	Ford CC	01:20:40
24.	Lisa Hurrell	Maldon & District CC	01:21:06
25.	Will Hedden	Crest CC	01:21:43
26.	Harry Moore	CC Hackney	01:23:22
27.	Colin Doe	Ford CC	01:23:31
28.	Robert Jones	Cardiff 100 Milers CC	01:25:09
29.	Emma Flin	Shaftesbury CC	01:31:55
30.	Phil Bailey	Basildon CC	01:33:01
31.	•	Finsbury Park CC	01:34:13
	3	,	

DNS (a) Steve Shore, Damien Foy, James Sale, Julia Freeman, Richard Stevens, Rob Young, Tim Chilvers, Tor Bishop and David Prom.

DNS: Tim Torriem, Matthew Saward, Alister Campbell, Nic Elson, Russell Hampton, Nicholas Webber

Thank you to all Marshalls and helpers from the Lea Valley Cycle Club for their contribution on the day.